Cheap Date?

With this economy, it would be foolish not to be a cheap date. Or perhaps you’re just another fellow student like me- facing the injustices of the fee increases by the University of California system. Whatever your situation may be, a $4o meal to impress that person you like, may now go a bit over your budget. If that’s the case, be smart about it- there are several things out there that you could do with your date for little or no price at all.

I love the weekends and the freedom they bring to my mind and soul. After a five-day week of work, the moment I clock out on Fridays, it’s becoming a sacred ritual more and more. However, the amount of effort I put into my job doesn’t really translate well into my minimum-wage paycheck that I eagerly get every other week. To be quite honest, that paycheck has probably been spent way before I even get it- and I know I’m not the only one in that situation.

So one of the things I love to do while I’m bored at the office (shhh, don’t tell on me), it’s look for things I can do with my girlfriend over the weekend; and the cheaper, the better.  Last Sunday, I took my girlfriend to an exhibition at the Fowler Museum. I knew little about what they were showing that day, but the fact that admission was free, made my choice for a date destination an easy one.

The place was  a bit empty (gotta thank our culture-lacking society for that one) which made the whole outing even better for us. So it happens that they currently have a very cultural-oriented exhibition that clearly represents everything Los Angeles stands for (although some may argue that). We got to see some videos and paintings from all sorts of places (Cameroon, Peru, Canada, etc.)- and we even got to see bits of a Japanese movie. All in all the Fowler was a delight. Nothing like tasting a bit of culture to feel like we’re part of something bigger than ourselves.

Next time that you’re planning to go out, plan well and use this amazing resource called Internet. There are a lot of free stuff out there that you and your honey can take advantage of; or you can at least find a better deal than an overpriced restaurant. Get creative and make it interesting- if a meal is your only choice, then get cooking and have a picnic at a local park. When it comes to spending time with the one you drool for, think outside the box and have some fun!

2 responses to “Cheap Date?

  • GentlemanPlayer

    Awesome advice. I’m a big fan of going for runs and doing exercise around scenic places. This can either be with Mates or with a date on a sunny day. I’m a sucker for a nice view.

    Since I live in Sydney, there’s no greater scene than the Harbour Bridge, the Opera House and the Botanical Gardens.

  • Mrs. This One

    I too am a sucker for a nice view!!! Been looking forward to go on a hike soon- watch the sunset and stuff.

    So jealous of you. I bet any sight in Sydney is better than all the sights in L.A. combined… if only plane tickets were free…

Leave a Reply

