Why is 2 better than 1?

Who would have thought that something as innocent as soccer could make an out-of-shape individual feel like they just have gotten hit by car. Whether it is because of my long-term relationship with soccer (I’ve been kicking the ball since I was 5), the fact that I need to get back in shape, or that the World Cup is on right now, I’ve decided to take a soccer class for the summer. The first session happened last night.

The class started with some stretching, then some drills and finally a scrimmage. The drills were a little intense but nothing I’ve never done before- only that it’s been a year since the last time that happened. The scrimmage was alright; I was able to score four times (my team won 7-1) but I also hurt my right ankle and was out of breath for most of the second half of the game. Once the game was over I felt satisfied with myself for pulling through and content that the nightmare of physical endurance was over. Until I woke up this morning.

I wasn’t as aware of my muscles as I am right now because I can now feel all of them with every movement. It’s ridiculous- I didn’t know one could feel this much pain without having a real reason to feel pain (like actually getting hit by a car). I guess this is what they mean when they say “no pain, no gain.”

Last year when I was playing soccer in a league, I’d get home really sore and tired after every game (not as much as now, of course); and it was sometimes a problem for me, because I’d be really hungry but in most occasions I couldn’t stand to be on my feet long enough to cook. So instead I had to wait the tiredness out. Today as I come home from work lamenting the soreness that has conquered my muscles, I rejoice in seeing how my girlfriend cooks for me and tends to all the chores without asking for my help.

It means the world to me that I’m being tend to when I find myself in this poor physical state. It’s so comforting to know that I can lean on her when I can no longer do that on myself. The same way that she could lean on me if she were in the position I am now. And this is why I think that two is always better than one.

Leave a Reply

