Baby Steps: Betrayal

I got home from work earlier than usual that day. I was surprised to see my mom’s car in the driveway of the house I shared with my roommate, Alex. As I opened the front door, I double checked my phone hoping to find a missed call from my mother where she had announced her visit, but there were no missed alerts. I walked into an empty living room growing weary of the situation and feeling an increased fear that something had to be wrong because things seemed so out of place.

I reached for the bedroom door knowing that I had been quiet enough that my presence was still unknown to anyone in the house. I was able to open the door a little before Alex jumped to close the door on me. I was only able to see my mom sitting in front of the computer that Alex and I shared. “What’s going on?” I yelled to the door. I was asked to wait in the living room.

I took my shoes off and walked back to the kitchen. I was going to get some water and rethink the scenario. They were dressed as I expected them to be. It never crossed my mind that there was something going on between them- and yes, Alex was a much older guy. But to find them on the computer was worse than finding them naked. I skipped the water and sat on the couch.

“This is it,” I thought. There was only one possible reason as to why they were in the room, looking at the computer. And if I was right, that meant that Alex had betrayed our friendship. It meant that I had been thrown into a cold river with no warming or mercy. But this was just the beginning; the worse was yet to come.

Will continue…

Leave a Reply

