My Official Pledge to be an Early Riser

As a (married) college student who slept an average of five hours or less during the last two years, this summer, the first one ever that I am not taking any classes, I have gotten into the awful habit of snoozing. Although I still have to be at my job by 9am every morning, it’s still a mystery to me how I’ve been able to sneak more sleeping time regardless of what time I’ve set up my alarm for.

For most of this summer I had been at peace with my morning habit, and some days, I even encouraged it. So much that it was barely yesterday when I found myself snoozing for 1 hour and a half! I’m still unaware of why and how I was able to hit the snooze button on my cellphone alarm every 5 minutes for a total of… (doing sloppy math with fingers) 18 times! This is when I realized that my initial morning habit of snoozing, had become a destructive one.

I woke up with a headache and my whole body felt heavy. There was no question that if it hadn’t been for my need to make money, I would have gotten back into bed for a bit longer- and probably hit the snooze button some more while at it. Once at work, my headache continued and I found myself craving caffeine and drooling over a Caramel Latte just so I could make it to the end of my 8-hour day.

Later in the day I went home and realized that just because it’s summer and I’m not in school until September, doesn’t mean that I can’t be the overachiever I’ve always been. After all, life is what we make it and if I want my life to be different, I am the only who has the power to change that. So I was resolved to never snooze again.

This morning when the alarm went off, I was almost pleased to hear the new alarm tone that I had picked the previous night. I rolled over and kissed my wife determined to wake her up this way. But she didn’t. “I’m too tired,” she said and rolled over. Before I could second think this new me, I left the bed and started to get ready to go to the gym. At this point my wife had gotten up and joined me.

I worked out, showered, started dinner in the crock pot (well, my wife did), gotten ready, made and ate breakfast and I was still about to go to work earlier than I ever do! This was a revelation. I never thought that not hitting the snooze button could lead to this much productivity. So far no headaches or coffee cravings have happened today. And what’s more, I finished in one day of work what had been taking me a whole week to finish.

So today, I welcome the hazing from getting less sleep and leaving my bed earlier than I would ever want to, because this is my official pledge to be an early riser!

4 responses to “My Official Pledge to be an Early Riser

  • the Success Ladder

    Amazing post. I have bookmarked your site. I am looking forward to reading more

  • Mrs. This One

    Thank you! I hope you enjoy further posts as I climb the success ladder 😉

  • Heather

    I used to be able to sleep 10-12 hours each night (on weekends, of course), easily. Now? Not. However, I’ve found that on the days I drag myself out of bed before 7 a.m., I’m MUCH more productive than the days I lollygag until 8. If you can make that immense first push to leave the sheets, you’ll be all the better for it, I promise!

    Easier said than done, though, right?

  • Mrs. This One

    See the funny thing is that because I wake up at 6am Monday through Friday, over the weekends, I wake up (on my own) by 7am!!! No matter how hard I try to stay asleep… But I guess waking up earlier is working a bit since I have been getting to work earlier- and therefore, getting off earlier too.

    I won’t complain… I just gotta get used to it, right? =D

Leave a Reply

