Violence of the Heart

Harry, George, Zeitoun, Napoleon and Charlie. No, those are not my kids names (thankfully) but they are however who I’ve been reading about this summer.

Love shouldn't hurt

I’ve already finished Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows (2007), Zeitoun (2009), and Animal Farm (1945). Babbitt (1922) got lost during the moving but I believe I’m halfway through it. And after I finished Animal Farm this morning, I began reading the Perks of Being a Wallflower (1999).

Before I get to the actual point of this post, I must mention that I can’t believe I’ve been able to read this much this year and I feel blessed for it. I love reading. I don’t think I could ever be who I am without reading.

I decided to read “Perks” next because my wife owns it and I found it while unpacking. Then my best friend Tori, who stayed with us for a week, got to read some of it while she was here. She said it was good so I decided to see what she meant by good.

I had never heard about the book before and I was intrigued by what I did hear of it from Tori. Life seen through the life of a kid- not always easy for me to take. I am always soft when it comes to youngsters… even though I’m still in my early twenties.

I’m not sure if you’ve read this book yet, so forgive me for letting out some details of it in words to come.

I’m in the part where Charlie told his professor that his sister’s boyfriend hit her and his professor then told his parents about it. They asked (forbid) the girl to see the boy again and then her dad went to talk to the boy’s parents.

I can’t remember too much of it but my brother hit this girl he used to date- I don’t know if it happened more than once or how bad he had hit her. I do know the one time I learned about it, it happened because he found out that she was cheating on him. This made me wonder if she was cheating because he was abusive. I asked him about it but he said it wasn’t my business so I will never know what really happened between them.

My mom and my dad got a divorce because my dad was abusive and a cheater. Even if his girlfriend was indeed cheating on him, I couldn’t understand why my brother would hit her. I mean, he hit me a lot when we were younger and live together but this was different- I felt betrayed. He was barely 17, already turning into my dad. They broke up after that night and she moved to Spain not too long after. Last time I heard from her, she’d had a baby already- at 18.

I know that he has been single for a while now and I don’t know if he has ever laid a hand on another girl, I just wish he wouldn’t have ever to begin with. I wish I wouldn’t have that idea of my brother, of my blood. I wish I could speak better of him. He isn’t a terrible guy, but I don’t think you can be called a good guy if you dare to hit your girlfriend.

Leave a Reply

