Rainy Days

I wonder how long a writer’s block may last. I come to this screen every day hoping that something fantastic would come out my fingertips and that I can make someone’s day a little better- even if for a total amount of five minutes. Yet nothing comes and the list of saved drafts keeps growing and growing.  Come to think of it, it might be a good thing that I don’t write for a living or I might not find myself in the best situation.

It’s raining today, something very unusual in L.A. Actually, it’s been raining for days now. Most Angelenos hate it but this is one of the few times that I like Los Angeles. Rain makes crowds hide and without the heat, things around me seem nicer. I wish I could plan an adventure for my wife on a day like today but the video game “Army of Two” is the best I got to offer today; we will play for endless hours after our workdays are over. It sounds weird just to say that this is what we do, but this is who we are; two crazy kids who decided to say “I do” to each other and meant it forever.

I’m not sure what you are doing today, but even if it’s not a magical adventure, maybe there’s someone who needs you to play a game with them. And then the rain crashing against the windows makes more sense. And maybe life makes more sense. Because even if I can’t write anything to make someone happy, at least I’ll make sure to do something else so I can make someone happy. “Rios, you copy?”

Leave a Reply

