Another Year Goes By

The year 2011 is sneaking up on us and I ain’t about to complain. College life has been a blessing but like any other educational system, it makes you wait impatiently for the graduation date. A year then becomes just another goal line and one is just grateful if several great things happened during those 364 days. And if not, then the thought of “making it through another year” takes over.

There are many who seek for their meaning and purpose. This time is a constant reminder of that; as New Year’s Resolutions fly left and right in every house in the neighborhood. If I had to come with any resolution myself, then I’d feel ashamed to admit that any I can come up with looks a lot like the ones from last year, and the year before that, and before that. In short, history likes to repeat itself.

I will brag a little because comes January 1st, 2011, I will be in a better place than I’ve ever been on that day in prior years. Even this Christmas is an improvement from family fights, lack of money and bulks of uncertainty. I do believe those who preach that “things can only get better,” because time has proven that they can certainly get better.

Despite the fact that we keep aging and this means nothing more than taking a step closer to the grave, it is always a good feeling that certain things are now being left behind. However my outlooks is not purposely pessimistic and I, like you are (I hope), am thankful of the things that come and leave or stay in my hands.

So long 2010 and hello 2011!

Leave a Reply

