Accountability

Although we are almost halfway through January, I keep seeing the same trend in the blogging world: People posting their resolutions, and others blogging against the idea of posting resolutions. It is pretty obvious why people post their resolutions- but why blog against the act of even having resolutions? According to those who blogged about it, because people never keep their resolutions. They all start happy about doing certain things during the first days of January, but comes February, they’ll forget all about them.

Well, I’ve come up with this theory that people don’t purposely forget about their New Year’s resolutions. We all have busy lives, and following a list of things that add to the stress of what’s already there, isn’t something we’ll go out of our ways to remember. That’s why I’ve decided to have a box on my very homepage to remind me of my own resolutions- which I’ve renamed to goals.

One hundred twenty. . .

As far as that list goes, I’ve started with number 5. I will be playing tennis every Saturday, and soccer every Mondays. If I can get a friend to join me, I might add another afternoon of either tennis or soccer on Wednesdays. I’m sailing through number 6- aside from my textbooks I’m reading other books for my undergraduate research project. And 8, 9 and 10 are going better than ever.

I am aware that I still have a lot more work to do, but I want to be able to hold myself accountable for these things. I don’t just want it to be a January thing- because if that turns out to be the case, then it will also mean I’ll blog less. Not this year, my friends. I quit being a quitter!

One response to “Accountability

Leave a Reply

