This is What I Want to Remember

Portraits in a Sea of Lies by Carlos Gaviria

One bad day completely erased by a better day (see yesterday’s post). One of the things that I love about college is the freedom to do things you wouldn’t do otherwise. It is true that this so-called freedom comes with a lot of limitations (i.e. if you don’t take a final, you’ll flunk the class…), but we can all agree that even in the “Land of the Free” no one is really free.

Although I was at work for most of the day, I took advantage of using one of the tennis courts (one of the perks of being a student) to play with my new tennis buddy, Joe. After that, my wife, a friend and I went to see a (FREE) movie, “Portraits in a Sea of Lies,” at the James Bridge Theater in Melnitz Hall. Not surprisingly, the theater, barely crowded, had less than 7 young faces (us included). Most students go to class and spend the rest of their time studying/partying- I am always looking for ways to use the resources college offers. And what makes it better is that they’re usually free. I don’t want to be old and remember all the nights I spent hugging the toilet- I want to look back and think of days like today, when I did things, amazing things, that I will be able remember the next day.

2 responses to “This is What I Want to Remember

  • onlyslightlyunhinged

    Good thinking. Those are certainly the kinds of memories I still carry from college – the movies, museums, road trips, etc. What little “partying” I did seems just embarrassing in hindsight.

  • Mrs. This One

    Thank you- I always feel like an outcast because I’d rather go to the museum than to a party to get wasted. Don’t get me wrong, I like to have fun, I just think the majority of college students and I have a different definition of “fun.”

Leave a Reply

