Wait, Why do you Have a Hickey?

We were heading to lunch. I tried to cozy myself up in the passenger seat trying not to think of how uncomfortable I felt for not taking a shower after my tennis workout. The traffic wasn’t bad which was a rare happening for Wilshire Blvd. I was looking forward to having Dim Sum for lunch- it had been a while since the last time we had it. I glanced over at the driver, my wife- and I noticed something unusual a little below her right ear. I could swear it looked like a hickey and I called her on it.

She looked at me sheepishly and asked me if I really thought that was possible. The thing is that at first the hickey didn’t bother me. I’m not allowed to give her hickeys and the thought of someone else being allowed to do so just made my blood boil. But seconds later it finally hit me what a hickey actually meant. If it wasn’t from me, then…

I thought then about her question, if I really thought she could do that to me. I was cheated on in every relationship I had before this one and that makes anyone suspicious of anything. But I’ve also never been truly loved before. So could it be possible? I wasn’t sure. But if she said it couldn’t be then I believed her.

I sank back into my seat quietly trying not to think of the act of being cheated on. I tried to push away the thought as I felt her hand slip into my hand. I felt silly then for even thinking it be possible. I glanced back at her and I noticed that the so-called hickey had vanished. “It must have been a scratch,” she said. And I wondered if maybe I should wear my glasses more often.

-Mrs. This One

2 responses to “Wait, Why do you Have a Hickey?

  • Heather

    I barely know you, but I believe you have more sense than to marry someone who would EVER sport a hickey–given by you or anyone else. Hickeys are tacky! That being said, I understand paranoia, so I don’t blame you one bit for your gut reaction, though I’m glad it was wrong.

Leave a Reply

