Dusting Off the iPod

I stopped listening to music pretty much after marriage. Okay, I do listen to it every now and then when I drive, but since we’re usually in the car together, we talk and music simply becomes background noise. Music isn’t an activity I look for on purpose anymore.

I suppose that music could be a great way to fill gaps that people leave sometimes- there are songs about love, friendships, and well, life in general. But I guess once those gaps are less noticeable, music isn’t that big of a deal. But the Mrs. had two iTunes gift cards and if she wasn’t gonna get any new tunes, I wouldn’t let the opportunity just walk by.

After adding a few songs however, it made me realize that I miss jamming and losing myself in the rhythm of a good song. So maybe I’ll try and befriend my iPod more often. And in case you were wondering, these are my newest additions (and some words about why I got ’em):

  1. “When I get you Alone” by Thicke Because it’s pure awesomeness.
  2. “Sweet Disposition” by The Temper Trap I heard this track while watching “500 days of summer,” so I had to have it.
  3. “Panic Switch” By Silversun Pickups Because it makes me sing every time they play it on the radio.
  4. “The Runaways” (Album) by The Runaways I watched the movie “The Runaways” not too long ago and I fell in love with this band. I promise it has nothing to do with Kristin Stewart playing yet another lesbian role. Okay maybe it has something to do with it.
  5. “What’s my Name?” by Rihanna & Drake I almost didn’t admit to this, but this song has a nice beat to it.
  6. “Such Great Heights” by The Postal Service Heard it in Grey’s Anatomy. Enough said.
  7. “Lisztomania” by Phoenix My wife used to listen to this song all the time when we were dating…
  8. “So What” by P!nk It’s Pink so I don’t think I need a reason.
  9. “Laura No Esta” by Nek Italian singers drive me crazy!
  10. “What it Feels Like for a Girl” by Madonna The one Madonna song I didn’t have.
  11. “Entre tu y Mil Mares” by Laura Pausini Another Italian singer. She’s perhaps my favorite.
  12. “I Love Rock & Roll”(Album)  by Joan Jett and The Blackhearts Same as #4.
  13. “Bad Reputation”(Album) by Joan Jett Ibid.
  14. “What the Hell” by Avril Lavigne Post-divorce music, needed to know what she’s about nowadays.
  15. “Cuando Nadie me Ve” by Alejandro Sanz This Spanish singer’s voice is just amazing… This guy sings with his soul. Same for the following three songs.
  16. “Corazon Partio” by Alejandro Sanz
  17. “Quisiera Ser” by Alejandro Sanz
  18. “El Alma al Aire” by Alejandro Sanz
2 responses to “Dusting Off the iPod

Leave a Reply

