Liar Liar Pants on Fire!

It seems that people believe that lying is easier than the truth. I talked about this with a coworker for hours. You’d be surprised the kind of stories I hear from people everyday so they don’t have to pay a small fee. In fact, the most common lie is that they’ve already paid and provide some receipt they’ve picked up from the ground. It’s sad to know that they’re lying. It’s even sadder when they find out that I knew they were lying.

Although maybe to a lesser degree, we went to a movie theater tonight hoping to catch a movie, but ended up watching a documentary. This is perhaps the second time this happened this year. The show is advertised as a movie, never mentioning the fact that it truly is a documentary. Then you go all excited to watch a movie and it’s not a movie. Don’t get me wrong, they are good, it’s just better to know what you’re getting yourself into.

People lie to sell, to get a job, a boyfriend (or a girl), to get out of paying for a service they used, to not hurt someone’s feelings, to get away from commitments, to ditch work… Maybe we should start to think about what the world we’re creating today will look like in 50 years.

-Mrs. This One

2 responses to “Liar Liar Pants on Fire!

  • tnavarra

    I’ve been reading Crime & Punishment, and one of the best lines that stuck out to me was this one:

    “Because you know what irks me the most about it? Not that they’re lying; lying van always be forgiven; lying is a fine thing, because it leads to the truth. No, what irks me is that they lie and then they worship their own lies.”

    While I don’t know that lying can be forgiven in many circumstances, I think it’s true that it ultimately leads to the truth in one way or another. I just can’t stand the people believe in their own lies so whole-heartedly, that they have no idea what the truth is anymore.

    I sometimes wonder if I can even be mad at some people in my life when I suspect they are lying– because I don’t know that they even know they’re lying anymore. And that’s the crazy part about lies if you ask me. Because you’re exactly right, every word, every lie, is shaping something bigger than us.. kinda crazy.

    Tee

  • Mrs. This One

    Yes! That’s the thing about lying… you end up forgetting what’s true and what’s not. I could tell you a political story about this but I will avoid it and with it, the backfire.

    I’ve always thought saying the truth was easier anyway.

    -MTO

Leave a Reply

