Blogging for the Readers of the Year 2060

I have been reading “Team of Rivals” by Doris Kearns Goodwin since I’ve had enough time to read something that isn’t a textbook. This book is a biographical account of Abraham Lincoln and his race to power, along with the lives of his competitors William H. Seward, Salmon P. Chase, and Edward Bates; all of who would go on to be his most important allies.

I have never been lucky enough to read a full biography of a personality as important in history as Abe Lincoln, let along one that involves the engaging writing of Goodwin. As I’ve been reading the accounts of the lives of Lincoln, Seward, Chase, and Bates, I’ve been reminded of that strange notion of communicating through letters.

I grew up through the growth of computers and Internet. I still remember the day my brother and I went to the first Internet cafe in town after school and stayed there for hours. We didn’t even let our parents know where we were and we had to hear it once we got home. It blew my mind, to communicate with someone across the world in a matter of minutes.

I never wrote a letter, or at least I don’t ever remember doing so. I wrote emails, but I took those for granted (and still do). I knew they would get to the other person in minutes, so  I never put that much thought into my emails. When I read bits of pieces of the letters that people like Lincoln wrote back in the day, I feel ashamed for letting go of letters. We no longer put time into saying how or what we feel.

Even over blogs… we write and people in 50 years won’t know exactly how we see things, how we feel- so why don’t we change that?

People from 2060:

I am currently watching a show called “Damages,” starring Glenn Close. We are watching this show through Netflix, an Internet company that allows for instant streaming through my PlayStation 3- can you believe that? We can have TV shows 24/7 if we really wanted to (well, some do watch TV 24/7 for some reason)! My wife and best friend are watching with me. I hope by then our marriage would have more legal rights and social acceptance. We are in our studio in Westwood, California- across the street from the University of California, Los Angeles where we are pursuing our Bachelors’ degrees. I’m not sure if you’d still go to a physical classroom in your time, but I love it. The weather is sunny but not too warm. Perfect beach day if you didn’t just have a whole week of studying to prepare for finals. We had leftover pizza for lunch, which is somewhat an improvement from the usual ramen noodle cup (instant noodles) that most college students eat nowadays.

I am thrilled to be watching this show because I want to be a lawyer and Patty Hewes (Glenn Close) is a lawyer in this show. Hard to tell if she’s the good or bad guy so far… but judging from her character in “101 Dalmatians” (if you haven’t seen it, YOU MUST!), she’s someone you shouldn’t trust. I am making my wife and my best friend watch it with me- they say they like it, but people usually lie (see my previous post) to avoid hurting other people’s feelings. So it’s hard to tell whether they like it or not. I still love them regardless. And I would be crazy not to since they have yet to complain about the fact that I’ve been typing on laptop for about two episodes now (roughly 2 hours). Maybe it is an advantage that we don’t use ink anymore because I may have run out of it by now.

There you have it people from 2060…

-Mrs. This One

Leave a Reply

