We Need Some Spice Around Here

That the most interesting thing over our spring break was dining at Top Chef’s Richard Blais’ restaurant, Flip Burger Boutique, says a little bit about being an undergrad student with no energy to do anything. No offense Richard, the burgers, sweet potato fries, and shakes were to die for, but one dinner doesn’t make a vacation. So what did we do during this vacation? The only two things we could possibly do: sleep and rest.

My parents met my wife and all parties seemed to get along. It was way better than expected- we didn’t get kicked out of the house for holding hands or something like it. If anything, my mother asked me to be good to my wife (I have a feeling I already mentioned that).

We hung out and had food. My wife enjoyed my mom’s cooking a lot. We also had some BBQ ribs from Full Moon- but my wife said she’d had better. Oh, and Salvadoran food, which was very delightful. I feel like I’m forgetting something. It was a very short week. Five days that truly felt like two. No joke.

So we’re now back in Los Angeles. And we have done a lot of nothing. Spring quarter starts tomorrow and I’m already two weeks worth of homework behind- what’s that about? I need an idea. Something to do, see, or experience. I need this and I need it quick… So what’s out there?

-Mrs. This One

6 responses to “We Need Some Spice Around Here

  • mairedubhtx

    Have you heard the expression “time flies when you’re having fun”? It’s true, 5 day can feel like you’ve been away 2 weeks, You lose all track of time and time become confusing. Then you are back to reality and homework. Speaking of homework, I didn’t check my class assignments carefully last week and thought I was a little ahead of myself, when I discovered I have neglected to do a power point presentation that was due at midnight. So I work like crazy and got it finished, Hope it’s good enough.

    • Mrs. This One

      This happens to me ALL THE TIME. There’s always that one assignment that I fail to notice, and boom, next thing I know, I’m behind once more. I tried to write my assignments ahead of time in my agenda and I rank them based on priority.

      -MTO

  • Karin

    Ummm…I think one’s dinner can constitute for a vacation! LOL…what can I say, I rarely get to go on vacation…so I will take a great meal as a vacation. Crap…now I’m hungry! šŸ™‚

    • Mrs. This One

      šŸ™‚ I totally understand. On the weeks where work and school are so overwhelming that we don’t have time for anything else, a nice dinner out is our only escape. I guess I am just jealous (not in a bad way) of the people who get to have exotic vacations on some unknown destinations- but I guess our current lifestyle doesn’t allow for that. So we settle for what we can do at the moment.

      -MTO

  • killdain

    I’m like Karin, It’s a vacation to eat out these days. We did have a weekend with no children which was spent asking each other “So, what do you want to do?”. Once the children returned home we went to 2 movies. Which was a treat for them because I hate in-door movies. Oh and we took our son to the shooting range where he fired almost 200 rounds of 22LR and about 50 .380 rounds. It was a blast just watching him remember all that he was taught. That was our spring break.

    • Mrs. This One

      But that sounds like an amazing time! I wish we could have even gone to a movie. Or we may have? At this point most of it is a blur.

      We are going to have a dinner tonight with the family which I’m terribly excited about. Although we are visiting my in-laws, all I’ve been doing is homework since we got here (on Friday)- so this dinner will be my little vacation šŸ™‚

      Thanks for the comment!

      -MTO

Leave a Reply

