Research, Law, and the Whole Casey Anthony Thing

I’ve always wanted to do research, but I’ve never found myself able to. I want to learn new things, understand why some things happen, and make some sense out of ’em. You’d think that sounds easy enough, right? That’s why I jumped to the opportunity to join a professor on her research. Though I understand that this is her research and I’m just an assistant, I’m just still waiting to see more than the small tasks I’ve been working on so far.

I want a little bit more action, but I don’t think I’ll see it until the day I do my own research. So why haven’t I? The first factor has been lack of time. The second factor, lack of chance, or opportunity. And the third, and probably the most important one, has a lot to do with the fact that I’m still not doing my thing. I love political science and all, but law and justice are my thing.

Take the Casey Anthony trial as an example. I know that this has caused a lot of anger/controversy/shock/happiness to different people (who are not even directly affected by it), but there is more to a case than a verdict that people agree or don’t agree with. In fact, cases like this one are the reason why lawyers have such a bad reputation. But this is why I think law is such an unexplored and overstated field.

The problem is not how a guilty person can walk away unpunished, but why these types of things happen. Let’s review: There are two sides to every case (most of the time). We can agree that each side’s advocate(s) will try to win. But the logic is that if someone is guilty of something, there has to be a way to prove it. This is where we can all agree that evidence is key. After all, it was lack of evidence that made it impossible to tie Anthony to any charge of murder. But can we go beyond hard facts to prove something? Can we look into behavior? These are the types of questions that one day I would love to work on- even if there are people who have been working on them already.

And about the verdict, you may criticize Jose Baez all you want, but if you really think she was guilty, I say criticize the prosecutors for failing.

Leave a Reply

