I love My Boss’s Boss

Starting a family while you’re in college isn’t easy. On top of the usual financial strains, you have to worry about grades, and if you’re in our situation, you also have to worry about your boss.

Because our budget is very restricted over the summer (courtesy of the “help” of the financial aid office), I have to work as many hours as possible- on top of classes, and my research project. I suppose you can also add to that list house chores, and being a wife (because that’s a full-time thing too, you know?). Well, the increase in hours, led to working on a daily basis. And this is where my nightmare started.

I really used to like my boss, but thanks to seeing him everyday, that feeling has changed. I know, from being married (and just being part of a family really), that constant interaction may lead to conflict. It is a human thing- you can’t avoid it. But this is made worse if that interaction happens with someone you don’t actually love and wouldn’t take a bullet for… like my boss. Now he just seems annoying and I just want to avoid him at all cost.

Unfortunately, he is my boss and I do need to face him from time to time. Like today, when I needed to inquire about why he denied my request for 1 day off, out of 7 days he can schedule me for, so I can study for finals. When I asked to have a word, knowing that he was eager to clock out as this was the end of the day, he told me that I had to walk with him as he was leaving. What he didn’t realize is that his boss was just around the corner, and heard him say that. She immediately told him: “No, no. I am your manager and as a manager I always have time for my employees- so you should too. Go back to the office and make sure you help her (referring to me) fully.” Now, I usually don’t even like this lady, and to be quite honest, I didn’t mind walking him. But knowing how much he hates her and how much he doesn’t like to get called on by her- I enjoyed every minute of it. Even the part when he blushed and you could almost see fire coming out of his ears!

I rarely feel any satisfaction from seeing anyone in a bad spot- but after hearing this guy day after day complain about stuff I’m not even doing, it’s nice to see him feel the way he makes me feel on a daily basis.

-MTO

Leave a Reply

