Life is too Fragile

Today I had a person mock me because of my job. I kept my cool, I know better than letting them get the best of me. They screamed “hard worker” several times. I can still see their faces. I know this is nothing compared to other things, but it is still something.

We, human beings, are the most ridiculous beings I know. We hurt each other left and right, and we don’t care. Yet life is so fragile, and being alive is something we take for granted everyday. Breathing, a heart beat, another step- these things are so precious, that we should be so kind to each other and make the best out of it. Unfortunately, some choose not to.

This is not the first time I get laughed at simply because someone doesn’t agree with my employer’s policies. I got news for you, I don’t make the policies, you are damn right when you call me a lowly employee. This doesn’t offend me, it just makes me sad that you would choose to insult someone so freely.

And here I read “All Quiet on the Western Front.” Though it is fiction, war is just another reflections of how pathetic some of us are. How we can kill each other and be okay with that?

I sometimes wish I didn’t have to leave my apartment and see other people. That my wife and I could just stay at home and enjoy each other’s company, in complete isolation from the world. But then again I know that there are a lot of amazing people out there that are worth the trouble. A lot of them. And I think about them and I suffer for them. Because I do love people- even those who I don’t personally know.

I read today about the Rangers fan who died trying to catch a ball (see the video below). The commentators made fun of him for trying so hard to catch a ball. But that meant a lot to him, and I really hope that at least he died happy, because he knew he had the ball. My best wishes to his family- wherever they are.


Leave a Reply

