If Dreams are Choices, and Choices are Hard…

It is Friday night, and while some may think TGIF, I’m thinking SWIFA (Say What? It’s Friday Already?). This can be both good and bad, but I will certainly let you be the judge of that. Anything I did prior to today is a blur. I am swamped with homework and studying coming at me from every which way. The Mrs. has already pointed out that I’m certainly less available. And all I thought after she said that was: wait until I’m in law school.

I’ve certainly seen my time shrink and the saddest point is that this was somewhat a choice. I emailed my BFF earlier (did I just used the term “BFF?”), and at the very end of the message pointed out that I was sure she was having more fun than me. I mean, she’s in college too, in a sports team (no, she’s not a lesbian), and working part-time. But that still does not add up to my 15 units (11 of which are honor courses), plus my legal internship, and this law school process (prepping and taking the LSAT, writing about three different personal statements, filling out 10+ different applications, asking for letters of recommendation, etc.). The crazy thing is that she chose her path and I chose mine. No one put a gun to my head and told me to go to law school (unless you count my mother. Just kidding. Kinda). I could have chosen to be a gym teacher and things would have been a lot different (no disrespect to gym teachers’ curriculum).

There are a few things I’ve learned out of all of this though:

  1. Lawyers are not just terrible* people. They are terrible people who worked extremely hard to be where they are.
  2. Dreams take some passion because without a good amount of passion, I would have given up my dreams already.
  3. Don’t marry someone who is not ready to go through everything you- and I mean everything.
  4. Blogging while you’re too busy is not necessarily impossible. Blogging without mentioning the LSAT at least once, when you’re about to take it, is definitely impossible.

-Mrs. This One

*Based on the silly stereotype that all lawyers are money-hungry, and heartless beings. A view I do not share; at least not always. 

One response to “If Dreams are Choices, and Choices are Hard…

  • Deborah the Closet Monster

    Re: use of “BFF,” I just started using this recently as well. I was only able to use it because me and my BFF used to do things like make up additional lyrics to Tenacious D songs and the like, in addition to all the hard stuff. Whenever I use the term, I laugh at myself for a little, which is a wonderful feeling. I think I’m going to keep using it.

    Ganbatte (figh-to!), as my students used to say to me!

Leave a Reply

