Waiting for Christmas

It should be 62 degrees outside, but in this studio, it feels like 50. While I try not to dwell on the lack of a heating device, the hammering from the construction going on in the lobby of the building causes me more distress than anything else. Is it Christmas yet?

I received my first grade of the quarter last night. An A-. Not the best, but also a little too good to be true, given the fact I went through months of homework, papers and exams, while enduring a lot of pain without being able to take my meds. I’d like to pat myself in the back, but there are three more grades pending- and I might not get so lucky the next time.

This past week came and went. It was the last one after finals, and it felt like just another week. I interned for four days, and I also got my old job back. Not thrilled about the latter, but we need money, and no one else is hiring. I’d like to say that I finally get to rest, but now it’s time to get my law school applications ready and hit “apply” about 17 times. On the bright side, I haven’t given the LSAT a second thought. Though between you and me, I think about January 6th (the day scores are released) every day.

We’ll be driving for a while tomorrow, and then we’ll spend a couple of weeks with my in-laws. I keep telling myself that I’m fine with this but for the first time, all I want is some quiet time with my girl away from everything- including family. But I know this is selfish, so I wave my desires away. Some day, I say.

I have no lists this time. No resolutions. Everything just got too tiring. We drove for a while last night to pick up a much needed paycheck (hers not mine), and I counted only 1 out of every 15 houses had Christmas lights on. It was saddening to see the spirit dying, but with this economy, I cannot blame anyone for wanting to cut some costs by letting decorations gather more dusts in a crowded basement room.

In the search of happiness I’ve realized that I like simplicity but some variety helps. For some reason watching two full football games kept my spirits up for the rest of the day. Who knew I loved football that much. Although you gotta admit that the Broncos-Bears game was a heck of a game. Except for the fact that I disagree with the newspapers. I love Tebow and all, but give Prater some credit. The man tied and won the game, and that’s the end of the story. Now I’m looking forward to the college bowl games. UCLA is playing Illinois on the 31st, and Auburn is playing Virginia later that day. If I can watch both games I’ll be golden. If I can hold my girl’s hand to receive the new year I’ll be… what’s better than golden? Double golden?

-Mrs. This One

2 responses to “Waiting for Christmas

Leave a Reply

