On Steady Ground

We made it here safely. The drive seemed to drag forever, but it could have been tiredness playing tricks with my mind. The caffeine didn’t help either. But it was better to have some of it than nothing at all.

Chinese takeout was a great treat. We split some Mongolian Beef with Lettuce Wraps. I was lucky to find a diet Mountain Dew in my in-laws fridge. They’re not really the soda type. And I guess I’m not either, but water gets tiring from time to time. Besides, I could use yet more caffeine to stay awake. My MIL (mother-in-law) is working, so we have to stay up at least until she gets home. I’m about ready to take a shower. That should give me some sense of renewal.

The first thing I noticed when I walked in earlier was the Christmas tree. It has the perfect shape. I love Christmas trees. I grew up with fake ones my whole life, so it was nice to marry into a family that used real ones. Though I probable would have broken my family tradition at some point. I guess I will soon enough. Which reminds me- my FIL asked over dinner when we were planning to have kids. It was and will forever be an awkward conversation… specially since we need help to make babies appear. But that’s alright, I’ve never minded the shortcomings of being a lesbian.

If there’s something I look forward to when I’m on a school break is reading. You’d think I’d get tired of doing so because I have to read so much for school, but this is different. There’s nothing like reading for pleasure- without overanalyzing every single word you read. I brought three books with me: “The Night Watch” by Sarah Waters (fiction), “The Return” by Daniel Treisman (Non-fiction, and he’s a UCLA professor!), and “Global Community” by W.M. Spellman (Non-fiction). Of course I probably won’t read all of them, but sometimes I like to spice it up a bit with some variety. My MIL also rented several movies for us to watch through the weeks. And! We might go to ZooLights at the Phoenix Zoo. I’m actually excited about the last one. We went there three Christmases and it was really fun- I’ve been wanting to do it again ever since. Besides these, my weeks will be filled with applications and essays. Fun, I know. Though, I’m gonna be watching the Packers-Chiefs game tomorrow with my FIL. That should be nice…

Okay, I really should go shower now.

-Mrs. This One

 

2 responses to “On Steady Ground

  • Deborah the Closet Monster

    Ah, the question of children! I was just thinking about this as I drove to the coffee shop a few minutes ago. At a housewarming party last weekend, the father of the newly moved in wife said, “About time she makes us grandparents, eh?!” I hadn’t realized “she” was pregnant, but I chuckled at the way he said it with such love and pride . . . and at remembering how it took me about a decade longer than my mom wanted for me to have one of my own, which “one” still came sooner than I would’ve liked! 🙂

    I try never to ask folks this question, but I wonder how I’ll feel on the point when I’m 50 and talking with my own child(ren). Hopefully the same!

    • Mrs. This One

      I was asked yet again last night by the Mrs.’s aunts! I finally blurted out that it would happen some time after law school. Trust me, I am looking forward to the day… but the timing won’t be right for another 7 years. I think my in-laws are just worried because they’re getting old…

      I’m sure you’ll feel proud!

      -MTO

Leave a Reply

