Oh, Life is Bi(tt)er…

As promised (to myself, I suppose), I’ve started submitting my law school applications. I feel so tense that I think it would be way too easy for me to snap- of course I only know that because it has already happened.

If there’s something I’ve been told about school applications, whether for undergrad or other programs, is that typos are grounds for dismissal. Therefore, typos have become my archenemies. That’s why I asked my wife nicely to double-check my essays before I submitted them. Easy enough, right?

Well, the thing is that for law schools, you can’t really use one essay. Each school will ask you for some things that will not fit with another school’s requirements. By now, I think I’ve written about 6 essays for three schools. Anyway, I first submitted my USC application, and then UCLA’s followed.

When I was about to submit my Loyola’s application, I noticed a typo in a sentence after my wife had already gone through it. This one sentence I have used for the other two schools as well. Panic sunk in. I frantically looked for my other two saved applications hoping I was wrong. Nope, no chance. I submitted a typo to both of those applications. And mind you, it wasn’t just A typo. It was a typo at the very end of an essay. So this will be the last thing in their minds when they look at my application. Could you really blame me for snapping?

Well, now I feel like an a** because my SIL is right: this is my responsibility and I cannot put this on my girl. Though I could go on about how my SIL really needs to stay out of my relationship with MY wife, I’ll leave that for later and rather give her the credit she deserves. Besides, if someone had asked me to look over 6 essays in about four hours, I too would have missed a thing or two.

I wish this process were less demanding than it actually is. Or at least that after I submit an application, I’d get the little corny video of Rocky going up the stairs like WordPress used to do when I published something. Is that too much to ask for?

-Mrs. This One

2 responses to “Oh, Life is Bi(tt)er…

  • Kaitlin

    Harrowing! Yeah, it’s pretty down to you, but at least you caught it now, so maybe you’ll be ok with this next app? Good luck, either way!

    • Mrs. This One

      Yes, yes- I definitely ended up looking at it that way… and with my tail in between my legs, I apologized.

      I got four in so far, and now I’m being super careful as to what everything says. I guess it was better that I caught it that if I hadn’t at all.

      Thank you for stopping by- I love your blog, and you two are adorable!

      -MTO

Leave a Reply

