How Did You Pick Your School?

Four applications in, thirteen more to go. Usually I would cherish the fact that I at least got some applications in, but for now all I can think about is that I’m not even halfway through. It does feel a bit surreal that I applied to some schools. Like, did it really happen? Is this a dream?

Okay, enough with the blabber. One thing that I’ve gotten out of this application process is that there is one school that actually rings my bell. They have a different perspective to the whole law school thing- and the more I deal with them, the more they confirm this for me. Because of how touchy this whole process is, I will call this school Dreamy Law School (nothing to do with Grey’s Anatomy, I promise).

I would love to go there because they’re different. The faculty is filled with bada**es. People who’ve traveled and done pretty unconventional research. What’s more, the dean is committed to make sure this is a life-changing experience for the students. You know how many deans actually care about the students? Well, I’m not sure either, but I bet it ain’t many. And one last added bonus, their campus drives me crazy (in a good way). I feel so much at peace when I’m there. But not everything is reindeer and rainbows. This school will have me live away from my girl, they are not the highest-ranked school (which it will matter plenty when I’m out looking for a job), and there’s the little inconvenience that my LSAT score needs to be good enough for them to accept me.

All in all, choosing a school out of thirteen (keep in mind this number will be smaller based on which schools actually take me) will be no walk in the park. So I turn this back at you- how did you pick your school? When did you know this was THE school you wanted to go to?

-Mrs. This One

8 responses to “How Did You Pick Your School?

  • EmJay

    I picked my school based on the fact that I had the most scholarships to it, and required the least effort in life-change for me. Which really, is kind of sad. But I only have to pay about $200 out of pocket each semester for school, and I get to stay near all my friends and family. It’s just a public state school, but it worked best for me.
    I also looked at a lot of out-of-state schools, but ultimately decided that for me the “college experience” wasn’t worth all that. I just wanted to get through it and move on to the working part.
    For you though, I’m sure it’s different. School is a VERY important part of being a lawyer. haha. For PR you just need to be good at bull shitting and covering tracks. I probably could have skipped college and been okay.

    How would that work if you and the wife have to be apart while you’re in school? That sounds unpleasant.

    • Mrs. This One

      You raised some important points!

      Money is always a big part. In fact, when we know where we got accepted to, their financial aid packages will definitely be 70% of our decision. I also don’t blame you for thinking the college experiences wasn’t worth it. In fact, knowing what I know now, I would have rather lived somewhere cheaper and commuted to school (this is our plan for grad/prof. school).

      I’m dreading being in that situation (going to different states). But we both know that the possibility is very real, and it’s out there. Since I have a bit more flexibility than my wife, I might try to transfer to where she is at. But if that doesn’t work, three years isn’t the end of the world. The thing though is that we are applying in a very methodological way- almost assuring that we will be in the same state one way or another. But knowing that there are always statistical errors. So stay tuned for that one!

      -MTO

  • bibliopirate

    I’ll admit that I only chose my school that I’m going to because it happened to be the school in the city I wanted to live in.

  • Deborah the Closet Monster

    My criteria back then were a little different than those I’d establish now!

    For undergrad, I had a single requirement: be within walking distance of my childhood home. The University of Oregon was it.

    For law school, I’d applied to a few schools outside of Los Angeles, but what I knew I wanted to do was get my butt back to Los Angeles. Everything about this place struck me right when I visited a girlfriend here a decade ago. So when I got that acceptance letter, I knew exactly where I was going!

    My brother in law applied to 18-19 medical schools in the last couple of months, if memory serves. Now I’m curious to ask him what he’ll use as the basis of his decision. I’m sure scholarship activity will be part of it, but I don’t know what part. Hrm!

    You’ve got me curious about DLS’s identity, but it does sound sweet. šŸ™‚

    • Mrs. This One

      That is some interesting criteria. How would it be different now?

      If the conversation with your BIL ever comes up, I’d love to know.

      I promise I’ll reveal it as soon as this process is over. I just thought it would be more fun this way for now.

      -MTO

  • PeterPumpkinEater

    I applied to 7 schools and only got into two of them. I wanted to go to the one that was specifically recognized as a Liberal Arts School because I knew that that school would probably tend to my needs more. On top of this, my grandmother was the dean there, so I figured it’d be easier to have connections there. More importantly, I wanted to go there because it was significantly smaller than the state school that I had gotten into. I have always gone to a small school and have always had a knack for being on good terms with the administration.
    Unfortunately, that school was private and even with the scholarships that I had won, it didn’t beat out the price of the state school that my parents were so eager for me to go to. At first I was very upset about it until I visited the school and found out that they had a writer’s program tailored practically to everything that I could ever imagine, and on top of this, we were split up into different colleges, and so I might as well be going to a liberal arts school anyway.
    I’ve just finished my first semester at University of Maryland and I can say that I’m very glad that I didn’t go to the other school. There are so many more opportunities because it’s such a large school, including connections with different alumni. In fact I just started an internship with an alum whom I sat next to at an etiquette dinner that the ARHU director invited me to. This was the best decision that I’ve made in my overall 18 years of existence. (:

    • Mrs. This One

      Ah good for you! I just applied to 15+ universities so I’m going to be asking myself this question a lot in the near future.

      But that’s the best part, when you can look at all of it and say “this was the right decision,” then there’s nothing else you could have asked for. This is how I want to feel when it comes to making my own decision.

      Thank you for your comment!

      -MTO

Leave a Reply

