Alone at the Movies

I came here having something to say, but as soon as the screen loaded, puff! it went away. It doesn’t matter anyway.

We went to see “The Descendants” last night. From the previews, it didn’t seem like a great movie to me. But it made the number one movie in so many lists that it got me curious. I guess advertisement does work a great deal.

When we got there, we sat in the middle of an empty row. This is a small theater we love going to. They mostly play independent movies. I think at least one of the employees knows we’re regulars. I’ve always liked her. There’s this something something about her that makes me feel like we could be good friends. I should add this to the list of things I’ll never know.

An older lady sat next to me right before the movie started. The Mrs. asked if I wanted to move over, but I said I was fine. Unlike my gal, I don’t mind sitting next to someone in the theater, unless they are texting their heads off. This lady though, didn’t quite seem like a texter.

This is not the first time someone who is alone sits next to us at the movies. I always wish I had the courage to tell them that if they want to make a comment about the movie they can tell me, or if they see something odd in the story, they can look at me for confirmation.

I’m not trying to be weird. I have gone to the movies alone. I did it a lot when I first move to Los Angeles. I didn’t know anybody and my roommates were not very friendly. I hated going to the movies alone, so I must sound like a masochist for doing it regardless of my hatred for it. That’s sorta why I always wonder about the people who sit alone next to us. Did they just move into town? Did they have a fight with their loved one and needed to get away? Did they really have no one else? Are they loners?

This was a good movie though. Way better than I expected. It got me thinking a lot about the decisions I will have to make some time in March. I like those movies- the ones that leave me wondering what’s ahead.

-Mrs. This One

5 responses to “Alone at the Movies

  • quotidianhudsonriver

    All three of us loved the movie (ages 15 to…older)

  • maroon5gurl88

    Loved The Descendants! Loved it enough to proclaim it my number 2 best film of the year. Since I go to the movies so much for work I often go alone although I always feel a tad awkward for a moment.

  • Deborah the Closet Monster

    Have you seen 50/50 yet? This weekend, I’ve been thinking about what’s ahead a lot in the context of that movie. I’ll never hear the movie’s parting words the same again, truly.

    I like hearing about the questions you have for those solo moviegoers. I actually love going to the movies by myself, and having as much space to myself as possible. I do also love going with friends, but it’s a different experience, of course.

    Yesterday I caught The Devil Inside solo. It was good for a laugh, at least!

    • maroon5gurl88

      I loved 50/50, another fantastic movie that made my best of the year list! I was tempted to go see the Devil Inside, mainly to get paid for the review, but I really don’t want to start off a new year seeing a crappy movie

  • Mollie Player

    Haven’t seen it yet… but I love it when I see people alone anywhere. That was me not so long ago. Admirable.

Leave a Reply

