The Cure for Procrastination?

There’s no question about it- we all love to procrastinate. It makes sense, why read 200 pages of statistical analysis when you could pop in a movie while you enjoy some delicious popcorn?

In the past, procrastination has been a terrible problem for me. Every single time I felt overwhelmed, I’d run to my ps3 and use it like there was no tomorrow. It relaxed me, but it also kept me behind on my work.

While browsing law school forums, I found an interesting thread titled “How Do You Motivate Yourself To Work” Given my obvious procrastination problems, I clicked on it, anxious to find the results. Some of them were plain funny, like “turn off the internet” by Transferthrowaway. Some were just bizarre, like alicrimson’s: “I drive myself to fear failure and then panic and then get to work. That was first semester. Now, I fear screwing up next semester and then panic and then imagine how sad I would be if I screwed up and missed out on L. Rev grade on opp, which I never wanted to do until this semester, and then get to work.” But yet, there was one answer that struck a cord: “Reading equals grades. Grades equal money. I value money more than Youtube” by kalvano.

Although my main interest in life isn’t money, I understand Kalvano’s logic. Though I think I equate it with success instead. After all, “graduated with honors” has to mean something to employers, right? Well, his logic must be working because in the last 16 hours I’ve been more productive than in the past two weeks! Granted, I have to admit that thanks to my first offer of admission I feel happier and less stressed, so this may be a variable that could undermine what I’ve written here. But we have to agree that your priorities determine your actions, right?

Before I go back to staring at a book, I have to make a confession. Public Service Law School (PSLS) has recently become one of my top choices. I hope it has nothing to do with the fact that PSLS was “my first.” But I guess I won’t know for sure until I hear back from everywhere else.

-Mrs. This One

Leave a Reply

