Friday Night

The Mrs. is out on her History Dinners (along with some graduate students), and I have been watching the 5th season of Friday Night Lights for the past few hours. I’m supposed to be doing homework, but it’s hard to do homework when you’re upset (long story). I am almost on the last episode, so I won’t be procrastinating for too long.

Today I got accepted to Local Law School. Not my favorite one, but I’m sure it’s a fine school. I’m going to plan a visit soon. I should have done so before, but time is hard to find these days. I think I could even sit in a class and everything.

It’s weird, I remember thinking that I was so far away from a day like today- yet, here I am. Growing up went by so quickly, though I know I have more growing up to do. But really, how crazy is it? To be graduating from college soon. Me. The kid who was working full time after high school because college wasn’t going to be an option. The kid who waited tables, specifically to Duke students, thinking that one day, I could be changing the world instead. The kid who sold hot dogs to attorneys in downtown, rushing to another trial.

Getting here wasn’t easy, and I certainly didn’t do it alone. And even if tonight, on a Friday night, I find myself without company, there’s no question that I’ve been blessed to be where I am today.

-Mrs. This One

Happy birthday, best friend! I am so lucky to have found you and to still have you in my life. You are still my wonderful present. I’m sorry for the distance, and the lack of time. But you have me, today, tomorrow and always. You can always count on me, as I’d always do anything for you. Friends like you are hard to come by. Thank you for sticking around. 

 

4 responses to “Friday Night

Leave a Reply

