College, Hoops, News, and More!

Can you believe there was a study released accusing the University of California schools from providing an “unbalanced education” (i.e. We’re too liberal) to the detriment of the students? The article came out a few days ago in the LA Times, and although I’d love to link to it, now you gotta pay to read the LA Times.

Maybe it’s the fact I’m graduating, but this study is very offensive to me (and to other students, I’m sure). As a political science major, I get to have the fun discussions about politics. Although most of my professors don’t say it, it is usually easy to tell that they lean to the left. However, this sentiment is never forced upon us. In fact, my professors have usually encouraged conservative students to speak up to counterbalance the view in the classroom.

However, even if this weren’t the case, this study missed an important thing. Part of UCLA’s greatness (in my opinion) is its left-leaning composition. The same way Chapman University students probably love its right-leaning composition. Isn’t that just part of college culture? There’s a reason why Berkeley or Harvard or MIT attract a certain type of students. Sure, balance is always needed, but you can only balance so much!

To be clear, I’ve been a strong critic of UCLA- but my criticism is mostly directed at the bureaucracy. UCLA really is a great institution with a lot of perks. For example, when in my Politics of Economic Development my professors asked how many students had spent more than a week in a developing country, I was so happy to see that at least 85% students raised there hands. You know how hard that is to find somewhere else?

In any case, there’s a certain feeling of relief knowing that this is my last quarter. Thankfully law school is on the semester system. I did very well last quarter, and I plan to rally through this quarter to graduate with latin honors. Because of this, I will be busy almost every minute of every day. Though in the mean time, I’m watching the Kansas-Kentucky game.

In case you’re wondering, my money is on Kansas.

-Mrs. This One

One response to “College, Hoops, News, and More!

  • maroon5gurl88

    I attend a CSU and I’m offended by that article! I’m taking a history of Vietnam class that my more conservative friends say is a one-sided view. I wanted to tear my hair out as my friends were obviously misinformed and my professor has made the point numerous times “you can disagree with me as long as you prove it.” I don’t think political affiliation has any bearing on education because we’re all individuals. Maybe this would make an impact at a high school level but as adults I think we can all assert and form our own opinions, isn’t that what college is about? Congrats on graduating, I’ll be graduating in six weeks as well!

Leave a Reply

