Another Dimension Maybe?

Tonight I watched an episode of One Tree Hill that focused on letting go of relationships (mostly friendships) because people come and go. This episode was from the last season, but to those who have watched this show long term, you’d know that one of the main themes in this show has been that “people always leave.”

P. Sawyer's Work

Coincidentally, I texted an old friend who is currently in the process of applying to schools. Seeing a news story about UCLA sending out admissions offers in error to some 800 applicants (don’t get me started with this) made me think of her and I got curious enough to ask if she had heard from schools already. To my surprise, she let me know that she had deleted my phone number because she didn’t feel our friendship was healthy. I didn’t really bother to ask her for details and simply wished her luck with schools. The fact that I didn’t fight for it, might hint to trouble in our friendship. But really I didn’t see our relationship as having any kind of trouble. In fact, I thought our friendship would be the kind in which our future children would become good friends. Little did I know.

The weird thing is that I’ve also felt like I’m losing other old friends- including my closest friend. But at the same time, I’m gaining new friends. I’m not sure if this means that it is true that people always leave. But if I keep going at this rate, I will not have people to reminisce with twenty years from now. In fact, as of right now I don’t even have childhood friends since I’ve moved so much in my life.

Mrs. This One

Leave a Reply

